# Create, edit, or deactivate a role

> Create, edit, or deactivate a role in Team > Roles by selecting the permissions it grants. Each user can hold multiple roles, and each role multiple users.

Source: https://help.withpersona.com/articles/1tDmKHklmmR6olOhaWAPNI/
Section: Admin > Team and permissions > Using Roles and permissions

## Overview

A [role](https://help.withpersona.com/articles/1YVUuhz3cuuGixzulUJkPV/) encapsulates a set of permissions. You can assign one or more users to a role, and each user can be assigned one or more roles.

### Prerequisites

You must be assigned the permission to edit roles.

## Create a role

1.  In the Dashboard, navigate to **Team > Roles**.
2.  On the Roles page, click **\+ Create role** in the upper corner.
3.  Select the permissions you want this role to have
    - See [this article](https://help.withpersona.com/articles/7jjWdyMQUMW1BAUUAlyaLT/) for more information on available permissions.
4.  Click **Save**.

## Edit a role

1.  In the Dashboard, navigate to **Team > Roles**.
2.  On the Roles page, select the role.
3.  Select the permissions you want this role to have.
    - See [this article](https://help.withpersona.com/articles/7jjWdyMQUMW1BAUUAlyaLT/) for more information on available permissions.
4.  Click **Save**.

## Deactivate a role

1.  In the Dashboard, navigate to **Team > Roles**.
2.  On the Roles page, select the role.
3.  In the upper corner, click **Deactivate**.
